Current Members

Group Leader

Dr David M Huang is an Associate Professor of Chemistry at the University of Adelaide. He received his BSc (Hons) degree in Physical Chemistry from the University of Sydney and his PhD in Theoretical Chemistry from the University of California, Berkeley, where he was a Fulbright Scholar. After a stint as a freelance copy editor for Springer, he carried out postdoctoral research at the University of Lyon, then at the University of California, Davis, before beginning his independent research career at The University of Adelaide in 2010.


Siyuan He

Graduate students (principal supervision)

Huong Nguyen (PhD)
Marltan Wilson (PhD)

Graduate students (co-supervision)

Andrew Dolan (PhD, with Tak Kee)
Jessica De La Perrelle (PhD, with Tak Kee)
Alexandra Stuart (PhD, with Tak Kee)
Hywel Bennett (PhD, with Anthony ZanderBen Cazzolato)

Former Members


Özgür Çekmer (2021–2022)

PhD students (principal supervision)

Belinda Boehm (2022)

PhD students (co-supervision)

Alexander Begbie (2022, with Tara Pukala)
Rohan Hudson (2022, with Tak Kee)
Mohammad Babazadeh (2022, with Paul Burn (University of Queensland))
Andrew Tarzia (2019, with Christian Doonan)
Patrick Tapping (2017, with Tak Kee)
Md Ayub (2016, with Anthony Zander, Ben Cazzolato, Carl Howard)
Jack Evans (2016, with Christian Doonan, Chris Sumby)

MPhil students (principal supervision)

Huong Nguyen (2019)
Daniel Rankin (2019)
Belinda Boehm (2018)
Sophia Ackling (2017)

MPhil students (co-supervision)

Jessica De La Perrelle (2020, with Tak Kee)
Alexandra Stuart (2018, with Tak Kee)

Honours students

Harrison Waugh (Honours 2016)
Daniel Rankin (Honours 2015)
Andrew Tarzia (Honours 2014, with Christian Doonan)
Charlie Whidborne (Honours 2014, with Tara Pukala)
Simon Blacket (Honours 2013)
Alex Button (Honours 2013, with Tara Pukala)
Mathew James (Honours 2013)
Kaustubh Naik (Honours 2012)
Kyra Schwarz (Honours 2011, with Tak Kee)
Ming Chiu (Honours 2011)